Word of the moment – Epic

I will firstly admit that I am guilty of overusing this word (usually to describe particularly awesome nights of dancing). But I’m trying to phase it back out of my vocabulary except, when, it is actually appropriate. Which is surprisingly rare. Clearly, I don’t read enough poetry or do enough heroic things.

The word of which I speak is: epic.

No, wait:

Dictionary.com gives the definition as follows:
epic [ep-ik] –adjective Also, ep·i·cal. 

  1. noting or pertaining to a long poetic composition, usually centered upon a hero, in which a series of great achievements or events is narrated in elevated style: Homer’s Iliad is an epic poem.
  2. resembling or suggesting such poetry: an epic novel on the founding of the country.
  3. heroic; majestic; impressively great: the epic events of the war.
  4. of unusually great size or extent: a crime wave of epic proportions.
In the last while, I’ve heard this word used to describe everything from shoe sales to sandwiches to drunk nights of foolishness to early-season hockey games. Dunno, but if you’re going to really, truly, earnestly call a sandwich “epic”, it better be either the size of my head, or have gold-flecked mayo on it or something. Actually, of all those aforementioned things, the drunken nights of foolishness could probably lay the closest claim to being legitimately epic because some of the stories I’ve heard could almost pass as Homeric. But more Simpson than Illiad, I suppose.
So I will try to reserve this word for truly epic occasions and return to more mundane but appropriate adjectives… (I’m personally pulling for a revival of “rad”. Yes.)
Leave a Reply

